The UPSC Civil Services exam is used to recruit candidates for the Indian Foreign Service. The Indian Foreign Service members represent the country on an international level. IFS is in charge of India's foreign affairs, such as commerce, diplomacy, and cultural relations.

In addition, IFS is responsible for developing the Government's foreign policies and overseeing Indian missions worldwide. Furthermore, it is the second most popular career after IAS.

Additionally, every year, the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) announces 17 to 18 openings in this department.

In this blog, we will share the eligibility criteria for the Indian Foreign Service Exam.

So read on...

Eligibility Criteria: Indian Foreign Service Exam

The following are the requirements for becoming an IFS Officer:

Nationality -

● Candidates must be Indian, Nepalese, or Bhutanese citizens.
● A Tibetan refugee who arrived in India before January 1, 1962, intending to settle permanently in India.
● Migrants from any of the following nations settle permanently in India: East African countries of Kenya, Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, Malawi, Zaire, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Ethiopia, and Vietnam.


Educational Qualification -

● The candidate must have a degree from a recognized university or an equivalent qualification.
● In addition, to become an IFS officer, a candidate must hold a diploma from an Indian university or a similar certification.

Skills Required -

● Interpersonal Skills
● Patience
● Good analytical ability
● Effective Communication
● Understanding of India's policies, economics, and affairs

  • Diplomatic approach
  • Leadership quality

Age Limit -

● According to the rules, the minimum age is 21 years old, and the maximum age is 30 years old. Age relaxation is available for SC/ST applicants up to 35 years of age. It is up to 33 years of age for OBC. Similarly, the age restriction differs for J&K residents, Defense applicants, and physically disabled candidates.

The number of attempts -

General Category: 7 attempts
Other Backward Class: 9 attempts
Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST): No restriction

Final words -

That was all about the eligibility criteria for the Indian Foreign Service Exam (IFS).

An IFS officer is the person who represents India in other countries. As a result, you should shape your personality accordingly.

Lastly, I hope you will find this information useful.