Urmia University of Medical Sciences (also known as Urmia Medical Sciences University (UMSU)) is an Iranian state medical university located in Urmia, West Azerbaijan Province. In 1878, Joseph Cochran built the Medical Institute on the present site of the city campus of Urmia University, which is considered the first attempt to create a higher education facility in Urmia. Dr. is also credited with establishing Iran's “First Modern Medical College”. Cochrane has. Cochran is credited on the Urmia University website for “reducing the region's neonatal mortality rate,” as well as building one of Iran's first modern hospitals in Urmia. Several others joined Cochrane's medical faculty, including Drs. Wright, Hommels, van Noorden and Miller. They spent their entire lives in Urmia. Urmia University establishes the Faculty of Medical Sciences in 1980. Under the auspices of the Iranian Ministry of Health, the school was separated from Urmia University in 1985, and a new university, Urmia University of Medical Science, was formed. The university has seven schools (Medicine, Pharmacy, Paramedical, Health, Nursing and Midwifery, Dentistry, and International Branch) and manages all public hospitals in and around Urmia, including Imam Khomeini, Shahid Motahari, Taleghani, Razi, and Sayyid ol Shohata. University Hospitals. The Iranian Ministry of Health and Medical Services has designated Urmia University of Medical Sciences as a “Grade A” university.